Chairing cycle

The Education Council's Chairing arrangements follow a 9-year cycle.
Chairing is as follows:

2020 Victoria
2021 Western Australia
2022 New South Wales
2023 Australian Capital Territory
2024 Queensland
2025 Northern Territory
2026 Tasmania
South Australia
2028 Australian Government

The Honourable James Merlino MP, Deputy Premier and Victorian Minister for Education, is the current Chair of the Education Council.

Chairing for the Australian Education Senior Officials Committee (AESOC) follows the same cycle as Education Council. Ms Jenny Atta, Secretary, Victorian Department of Education and Training, is the current Chair of AESOC.


Australian Curriculum Assessment and Reporting Authority (ACARA):

Australian Children’s Education and Care Quality Authority (ACECQA):

Australian Education Research Organisation (AERO): 

Australian Institute for Teaching and School Leadership (AITSL):

Education Services Australia (ESA):